Waziris of the erstwhile state of Kullu

The administration of Kullu in the times of Rajas was broken up into provinces called ‘waziris’. A ‘waziri’ was divided into ‘kothis’, each of which further had two to five subdivisions called ‘phatis’. Each ‘phati’ had, depending on the population density, up to twenty separate villages within it. The Waziris were governed by civil governors called Wazirs who answered to the Prime Minister (Chauntra Wazir) of the Raja. In addition, the ‘kothis’ in a Waziri employed a sizable staff of officials and subordinates, all of whom were appointed by the Raja himself.

Sorry, you cannot copy the contents of this page.